17 Comments
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang, Hank Stephenson

Universal vouchers in defiance of what voters want capped off a terrible session

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang, Hank Stephenson

My daughter just recently suggested we follow and support your efforts. So far I’ve enjoyed your coverage and attitude. We’re leaving for a vacation away soon too. Enjoy yours and when we’re back we will set up a regular subscription. Thanks! -Marilyn

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang, Hank Stephenson

Arizona Agenda is a valued news source. I’m thinking I can certainly up my subscription rate from $80/yr to $100/yr. Looking forward to your return. Keep shining a light!

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

There was only 1 positive highlight from AZ legislature: blocking GOP legislature from being able to overturn election results they don't like. Everything else over the past 2+ years that AZ GOP legislature has done is undemocratic. They are not consistent with constituent opinions. From the Big Lie , taxpayer funded fraudit, to open carry assault rifle gun laws & immigration lies I'm disgusted. I'm also extremely angry with most of Arizona's US Reps & Sen Sinema. Our state sprouted some of the worst insurrectionists, liars & politicians owned by big business & billionaires like Sinema who block Dem agenda by refusing to alter the filibuster even to pass such basic rights as voting rights, pro-choice/medical autonomy, campaign finance reform & BBB. I won't even get into the stolen far right liars & extremist SCOTUS overturning critical rights. Our lives literally depend on 2022. Vote Blue up & down ballot now & forever.

Expand full comment
founding

You guys have done a fabulous job informing us - I am VERY glad that I could chip in with a premium/group subscription early on!

The Legislature, on the other hand, not so much. (There is a lot I will help fix if I am elected this fall.) This session's lowlights: yet another abortion ban, universal school vouchers sucking $ out of our already-starved public education system, passing a poorly-written voter registration/citizenship bill, playing chicken with schools on the AEL and calling us "educational terrorists" in the process (when they were the ones holding schools hostage). So many more.

Thanks, Rachel and Hank, for being there throughout! Keep at it (after a recharge break)! --Paul (ArizonasLaw.org and now a candidate for the House in LD12) Weich

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

Do you all know what happened with Community College funding? Seems like CCs are a big loser in the budget. Seems like everyone got increases in funding, but CCs maybe got a decrease, especially as they passed a bill that charges them with creating affordable, 4-year degrees (without any funding support). I think there's even a wonky thing where Regina Cobb's amendment pulled CC's STEM funding. But also, they pass the budget at 3am, so it's hard to discern what happened here. Any information you all have on this would be helpful!!!

Expand full comment
founding
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

Session lowlight: Opening day.

Session highlight: Sine die.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022·edited Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

Highlight would be the increases to education spending, lowlight would be the universal voucher expansion on the way later today.

I plan to increase my my subscription rate from $70 a year to $100 a year! Happy to support fantastic independent journalism.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

Wow. When you started the morning with a post-session therapy offer, I suspect you were just giving your subscribers a chance to talk about all the feels they had over the course of this shit show we call a state legislative session. What’s funny about that, and not ha ha funny, but funny, is that just yesterday I was thinking, this is all pretty bad. Right? Like, I was low. I was blue. We have full on traitors serving as elected reps both in the state legislature and congress, a governor who lost 30,000 Arizonans to a preventable illness, a decimated public school system, sky rocketing housing costs, and a full on, openly corrupt state attorney general engaging in malicious prosecution.

There was a lot, and I mean a lot, to unpack and digest and mourn and engage in a collective what in the actual fuck is happening in this god forsaken state. Right? And, then at 7:30 am, we found out that we went from living in a lawless land of corruption and dumb fuckery and jumped the shark tank into a full on dystopian novel.

How do I best sum up my feelings about the session and our state legislature? We have a member who didn’t LIE UNDER OATH and did not commit TREASON and “we” are calling him a hero. (And, he openly admits he’d vote for a traitor.) This is our bar. Can we even call it a bar when it’s at ground level? Isn’t that just the ground? So, yeah, I’ve got lots of feels and ain’t none of them good.

Expand full comment
Jun 26, 2022Liked by Rachel Leingang

Thank you for being one of my must-reads. I feel like I've been beaten up, dragged behind a horse, and hung by the thumbs after this legislative session. When you think it can't get worse, they take that as a challenge. I will be working between now and election day on electing people who believe in governing, not bomb-throwing. Hope all of the people in this thread will do the same.

Expand full comment